The 22nd Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka – China Business Council of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce was held on 24th August 2023 at the Board Room of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce. The event was graced by the presence of Mr. LI Guangjun, the Economic and Commercial Counsellor, Embassy of People’s Republic of China who graciously participated as the Chief Guest.

The Sri – Lanka China Business Council established on April 26, 2001, was formed under the aegis of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce. The Council was formed at the request of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the main objective of promoting trade, investment, services and tourism between Sri Lanka and China.

Mr. Chaminda Perera, Co-Founder / Director of Deranya (Private) Ltd was re-elected by the members, as the President of the Sri Lanka – China Business Council for the year 2023-2024. Mr. Haroun Cader, Sinwa Holdings Ltd was re-elected as the Senior Vice President and Mr. M. H. M. K. Hameez – Spillburg Holdings (Pvt) Ltd was elected as the Vice President of the Sri Lanka – China Business Council for the period 2023-2024. Mr. Ong Jhon Seon, Prima Ceylon (Private) Limited was elected as the Treasurer and Mr. Aruna Perera will serve on the Committee as the Immediate Past President. The Business Council members: Acorn Aviation (Private) Ltd., Bank of China Colombo Branch, David Peiris Motor Company (Pvt) Ltd., eArrow (Pvt) Ltd., HVA Foods PLC, Overseas Reality Trading (Pvt) Ltd., Singer Sri Lanka PLC, South Asia Gateway Terminals (Pvt) Ltd were elected as Committee Members for the year 2022-2023.

During the reviewed period, the Council arranged a series of events and business meetings aimed at benefiting its members and other enterprises involved in conducting business with China. These initiatives encompassed diverse activities such as the Lantern Night of Fellowship, which provided an excellent platform for members to connect with the members of the Council and the Embassy Officials. Additionally, the Council arranged B2B meetings with a visiting delegation from Hebei Province, China, fostering essential exchanges and discussions to foster collaboration and partnerships between the Chinese delegation and the Sri Lankan business community.

A significant highlight was a panel discussion titled "China Open for Business: What's Next for Sri Lanka?" The event featured the participation of notable figures including Hon. Dilum Amunugama, Minister for Investment Promotion, Hon. (Dr.) Harsha de Silva, Member of Parliament, Mr. K J Weerasinghe, Chief Negotiator – FTAs, Mr. LI Guangjun, Counsellor in charge of Economic and Commercial Affairs, Mr. Chalaka Gajabahu, Chairman of the Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau, and Mr. Ranil Goonetilleke, Chairman of the Exporters Association of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, as panelists.

This insightful discussion delved into various aspects, including strategies for Sri Lanka to capitalize on opportunities, enhance trade with China, and boost tourism—a crucial factor for the Sri Lankan economy. Furthermore, the panel addressed the ways in which China could assist the Sri Lankan economy in its recovery from internal and external debt restructuring, along with IMF intervention.

Companies interested in joining the membership of the Sri Lanka – China Business Council may contact Aneesha at the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce on tel. no. 0115588856 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to obtain further information.

DCFL3355 B 1

[Image: SLCHBC Committee Photograph 2023-2024]

Seated from left to right: Mr. Ong Jhon Seon, Mr. Haroun Cader, Mr. LI Guangjun, Mr. Chaminda Perera, Mr. M. H. M. K. Hameez, Mr. Aruna Perera, Ms. Aneesha Boteju

Standing left to right: Mr. Ted Muttiah, Mr. Kumudu Jayalath, Mr. Nipun Wisnagalage, Mr. Dhanushka Perera, Mr. Tharindu Mahawedage, Ms. Nethmi Jayamaha, Mr Adheesha Salpitikorala, Mr. Chandrika Ranawaka, Mr. Sampath Kumara